About the Icelandic Film & TV Academy and the EDDA Awards

The Icelandic Film & TV Academy (IKSA) unites the film makers associations in Iceland in co-owned organisation, which aim is to enhance the Icelandic film and TV industry. For pursuing this goal, the Academy operates the EDDA Awards, the annual film and TV awards in Iceland.

The EDDA awards are the Icelandic film scene harvesting festival with the aim to encourage professionalism in the industry. Members of the Academy vote on the work and individuals that are awarded each year.

The Icelandic Film & TV Academy is a member of Film Academies Network of Europe and is responsible for nominating Iceland’s submission for the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film.

The Icelandic Film & TV Academy was formed in 1999 and the first EDDA Awards where handed out that year. The Academy is a private limited company owned and is operated by:

Association of Icelandic Film Makers (FK)

Association of Icelandic Film Producers (SIK)

Film Directors Guild of Iceland (SKL)

These Associations appoint two men each to sit on the Board of Directors of IKSA and the Icelandic Film Centre appoints the seventh Director to the Board.

The Board of Directors of IKSA (from 2020):

Hlin Johannesdottir, Chairman (SIK)
Karna Sigurðardóttir, (SKL)
Stefanía Thors, (FK)
Ásgrímur Sverrisson, (SKL)
Sigríður Rósa Bjarnadóttir, (FK)
Laufey Guðjónsdóttir, Director (IFC)
Anton Máni Svansson, Director (SÍK)

The Academy resides at Hverfisgata 54, 101 Reykjavik, Iceland. It can be contacted at eddan@eddan.is